Magic Doesn’t Scare Me


Magic doesn’t scare me. Magic isn’t real. Magic is for entertainment. But people who do believe in magic scare me. People who believe in magic use that believe to justify laws that threaten my well-being. People who believe in magic use their belief to hurt those that they have power over. They deny their children medical treatment in favor of prayer and exorcism. People who believe in magic try to tell me what I can say, what I can think, what I can read, what I can wear, what I can learn. People who believe in magic try to make me believe as they do.

I’m not talking about the people who buy into the notion of Ouija boards and hauntings. I’m talking about the people who are willing to burn books. The people who get books banned from schools because they don’t want their child to read it. Largely, I’m talking about fundamentalists. The people who hold their religious beliefs above everything else and believe that they have the right to force their beliefs on everyone else. And it’s that very belief that scares me most. It scares me because those people believe that they have more rights than me and are willing to take my rights away. They scare me because when I stand up to them and say that they can’t have my rights, they turn around and tell me that I’m trying to take away their rights, and they fully believe that they are being oppressed. 

I’m perfectly willing to accept that everyone has the right to believe what they want. I won’t stop anyone from being religious. I don’t want everybody to be an atheist. But I do want to stop those who would shove their beliefs down everyone else’s throats from doing so.

Tell us what you think

