Why I Can’t Agree With the Bible: Deuteronomy: Part 3


I found the last few chapters quite boring, so I don’t have a whole lot to say about them.
We have the first example of people saying “amen” in Deuteronomy. I found this more interesting than anything.
God threatens to punish men who do not serve God graciously and gladly by having the women they are pledged to marry taken and raped. WTF? Oh, and their children will be enslaved. Lovely. The suffering will be so bad that…people will eat their own children. What is wrong with Yahweh?
God claims that his words are in the mouths and hearts of the Israelites. So does this mean that we can go up to anybody of Israelite descent and they’ll be able to tell us all of God’s laws? Or did this wear off after a certain number of years?
“Their children, who do not know your God.” So know Israelites do not naturally know God? They have to be taught first?
Moses lives to be 120 years old.
God predicts that the Israelites will turn against God. I’ve heard this used as an excuse for past antisemitism and harm done to the Jews, but this seems like a self-fulfilling prophecy to me. Or like people looking for ways to explain past hardship. The Jewish people seem to have a history of following their religion closely. Why is there no history of people intermittently going against their religious doctrine and following it closely?
God keeps telling the Israelites that they are rebellious. I have yet to see any evidence of this rebellion.
I’ll be going out of town for a bit more than a week. I’ll try to post regularly, but Joshua will likely have to wait until I get back (I doubt my 4 and 8 year old cousins will allow me to spend hours reading the Bible).

Tell us what you think

