Theology Books


Here is an opportunity for those theist readers out there to help me: What would you say is the most influential theology book to you? I am looking to read a few that I haven’t read yet to go along with my readings of holy books. So far I’ve only gotten through part of the bible, but I intend to read others as well. By reading these holy books, I can develop my own interpretation of them, but I’d also like to read the interpretations of certain defenders of the texts. Of course, I will be reading counter-arguments as well. All of my interpretations/readings/reviews will be posted on my blog as I get to them. This will likely take me years to get through, but, with any luck, I will get through everything.

18 responses to “Theology Books

  • Nancy Ruegg

    I’d recommend Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis and Basic Christianity by John Stott. Both offer much food for thought and are of reasonable length. P.S. Thank you for becoming a follower of my blog. I am honored, and hope you find the posts meaningful.

    Like

  • Craig Truglia

    Augustine’s Confessions

    Like

  • Amyclae

    This provided some good books.

    Like

  • intrepidmuses

    Hey,

    What a great question to ask. It reflects such a desire to know and seek truth, wherever it may lead you. I am very impress by such openness to see different viewpoints.

    A. Theology and Sanity by Frank Sheed

    This is a brilliant introduction to Christian theology. The author has a great ability to explain complex subjects in clear and understandable terms. I highly recommend this book. It also has one of the best explanations about Holy Trinity that I have come across.

    B. Any book by Peter Kreeft

    Ok that is not fair but here are three that may help you:

    1. Fundamentals of the Faith: Essays in Christian Apologetics-

    A collection of essay that explain the fundamentals of Christian faith.

    2. You Can Understand The Bible: A Practical And Illuminating Guide To Each Book In The Bible

    This is basically a very consisted study guided for each book in the bible.

    3. A Shorter Summa: The Essential Philosophical Passages of Saint Thomas Aquinas’ Summa Theologica

    Some people recommended St. Thomas Aquinas’ Summa Theologica but this can be daunting for anyone. This is a great introduction for St. Thomas Aquinas work.

    C. Any book by Joseph Ratzinger, better knows as Pope Benedict XVI.

    1. Introduction to Christianity
    2. Jesus of Nazareth volumes 1 and 2.

    Hope this helps,

    Caleb

    Like

  • Dena

    If you’d like a Jewish perspective from a non-literalist you could try Sacred Fragments by Neil Gillman.

    Like

  • aetherhouse

    I enjoy Joseph Campbell, but that’s not really a “theist” author so much as he’s an “explaining religion” author. He just writes a lot about myths from a cultural/literary standpoint.

    Like

  • Kelly Grace

    Knowing God J.I. Packer, The Knowledge of Holy and The Pursuit of God, A.W. Tozer, and Basic Theology Charles C. Ryrie.
    What a great intention. God bless you as you pursue a deeper knowledge of Him.

    Like

  • Shawn

    Reason for God – Tim Keller
    Van Til’s Apologetic – Greg Bahnsen

    Thanks.

    Like

  • Evan H

    “The Will to Believe” by William James and “The Will to Doubt” by Bertrand Russell make a powerful argument and response.

    Like

  • theologicalbeard

    Introduction to Christianity by Joseph Ratzinger

    Like

  • Marigold

    The Hebrew Pharaohs of Egypt: The Secret Lineage of the Patriarch Joseph by
    Ahmed Osman was fascinating. The author gave a really in depth explanation of the differences between the Hebrew Torah and the King James Bible’s old testament. He also started off talking about how the old testament stories were originally separate oral traditions until it was decided to join them all together, possibly explaining strange family lines. I’m not religious but I do find our history fascinating and this book really opened my mind. I had lots of ‘a-hah!’ moments.

    Like

  • unityandequality

    The Mustard Seed by Osho with commentaries on the Gospel of Thomas

    Like

  • silenceofmind

    The Catechism of the Catholic Church because it explains the meaning of the Bible.

    Saint Thomas Aquinas’, Summa Theologica, because to understand it, the reader must learn how to reason.

    Like

  • sacredhandscoven

    There are many good books you can buy and read on your own, but I would recommend starting with http://www.religionfacts.com/ as it is provides an accurate overview of many of the world’s religions in one simple location. Then you might choose which religion to go on to from there.

    Like

  • lukelarner

    “Defending the Faith” by Cornelius Van Til is good but a hard read. It focuses mainly on presuppositional apologetics. Other end of the spectrum would be “The Ragamuffin Gospel” by Brennan Manning. Much shorter and easier read, more grass roots. Have a good little video clip of him on my blog http://www.theroadsidemusings.com .

    Like

Tell us what you think

