Another Rant, Because They Seem to Only Work For a Short Time


Today is one of those days where I can really understand the atheists who avoid the whole religion discussion. And even the ones who want nothing more than to antagonize the religious. For the most part, I’d prefer to have an honest conversation with those that I disagree with. I want to get to know them as people and understand why them believe what the believe. I have no intention of converting anyone, but I do like to have these conversations.

However, it is really hard to find people who share this interest. I know a number of atheists who enjoy it, but, since I’m an atheist, these conversations are pointless to have with them. At least, they are in the way that I have them in religious believers. This is one reason why I like interfaith groups: the people there are usually happy to have conversations about belief, both in general and theirs personally. And they’re genuinely interested to hear about my belief. But most religious people are not like that. If I try to start these conversations with believers, I find I get one of two responses: they either lash out angrily or they throw rhetoric at me and it never goes farther than that.

And the responses are worse when it comes to my own blog. Luckily, I have found a few people who are interested in having real conversations. They will ask me questions and actually expect an answer in return. They will reply politely and will remain friendly throughout the entire conversation. And, to those of you who fit this description, I’d like to say thank you. Those conversations are a lot of fun and very informative. I wish all conversations were like that. But too many are not like that. Too many people come here and throw assertions at us like it’s holy water or something. They seem to think we’ve never heard these words before. They seem to think we’ll read their rhetoric that is never presented with evidence and suddenly have a revelation. But it doesn’t work like that. We’ve read it all before. We had read it long before we started blogging. It’s not going to suddenly work now because you’ve said it. Both of us are perfectly willing to respond to your issues with our posts. We don’t think we’re perfect. We don’t think that we always get it right. But rhetoric isn’t compelling. Evidence is. Give us reasons why we’re wrong, don’t just throw words at us.

We also get no few insulting comments, but I’ve already wrote a post about that. We aren’t here to be your atheist-strawmen punching bags. If you don’t like what we have to say, you don’t have to read it. Nobody is making you push the like button. Nobody is forcing you to comment. Insults aren’t productive. They won’t make us go away and they certainly won’t make us change our minds.

I set my blog up because I like writing and we both want to get our ideas out there. But right now I’m quite sick of the Christian community out there. To be fair, I’m annoyed with a few atheists too. But mostly it’s the Christians. I’m tired of the rhetoric. I’m tired of the insults. Yes, I’m an atheist, but I’m a human too. So can you please just show some respect?

15 responses to “Another Rant, Because They Seem to Only Work For a Short Time

  • lukelarner

    Sorry to hear you’ve been on the receiving end of some abuse. To be honest as a believer I’ve frequently experienced the same thing from the Atheist/Humanist community (although not yet on WP). Same deal with weakly communicated rhetoric used as some kind of ‘proof’ instead of actually analysing and commenting on what I’ve said. It seems that there are a lot of people out there of all beliefs etc that don’t know how to have a good natured debate!

    Like

  • adegrandis

    I suppose this is a pointless comment, supporting someone you agree with does not exactly stretch the mind or the boundaries of debate, however I just wanted to share how depressing I find it that many Christians seem to regard me as a ‘project’ once they discover I don’t share their views. I’m lucky to have friends who like to chew the fat about almost anything including religion and we don’t harangue each other even though we have very different takes on what is religion.
    I tend to separate out organised religion from belief in being a decent human being because organised religion to my mind is a social construct ‘here’s the rule book live by it and you’ll be OK everyone else is dammed or whatever’. Belief in the need live well and respect not only humanity but the entire planet is an individual matter of conscience and puts the onus firmly on me to wrestle with all thoise moral dilemmas – No rule book thank you. I prefer to make those choices myself and I to think about the consequences of my actions for myself and others.even though it’s sometimes very uncomfortable.
    That said the language of the King James bible is beautiful and wonderful (but skip all the bits about who begat who that gets tedious!)

    Oh and I don’t drink either!

    Like

  • Tom Kenobi

    “Today is one of those days where I can really understand the atheists who avoid the whole religion discussion. And even the ones who want nothing more than to antagonize the religious. For the most part, I’d prefer to have an honest conversation with those that I disagree with. I want to get to know them as people and understand why them believe what the believe. I have no intention of converting anyone, but I do like to have these conversations.”

    I feel you and I can raise a glass of wine, a beer, a shot of whisky or your favorite spirit to that! πŸ™‚

    Like

  • Arkenaten

    The problem lies in the fact that the religious, whether they admit or not, operate from a standpoint of presuppositional belief: their god is real, period. This is usually because of early indoctrination.
    In every case, ,em>genuine critical thought regarding religion will result in non- belief.

    At some point the believer has to have a grain of doubt before they can even contemplate that what they believe may be false.
    Ask any deconvertee.
    Until that point is reached it is mostly point-scoring. But that’s okay. One can learn a lot this way as well.

    In some cases it has to be done, and with a great deal of vigour, such as with creationist organisations like ACE that use insidious methods to infiltrate educational facilities to teach this crap to kids.

    Like

  • Another Rant, Because They Seem to Only Work For a Short Time | Christians Anonymous

    […] Source: Another Rant, Because They Seem to Only Work For a Short Time […]

    Like

  • Marigold

    I’m glad to see you haven’t backed down in response to hate & ignorance. But what’s even more wonderful is that you’ve admitted that the insults hurt, and you’re trying to appeal to people’s better nature. There’s the reason right there why your blog has taken off so fast: your posts are thoughtful and honest and those qualities are valuable. Please keep posting πŸ™‚

    Like

  • littleknownblogger

    I’ve had similar experiences–bile from both sides. :-/

    Like

  • Godless Cranium

    I’ve found WordPress fairly friendly when it comes to comments, even ones that disagree. I think you got to just pumping out good content and the good discussions will come.

    Like

    • hessianwithteeth

      I think that may be a bit of a back-handed compliment…:P.
      We have really good commenters most of the time, but lately we’ve been getting a lot of people being very insulting. I thinks it’s in part because our blog took off so fast, because it was around that time when the insults began. But we seem to have drawn in a few people who either just like to troll or I don’t know what. It’s mostly related to the Why I Can’t Accept the Bible and Mere Christianity posts, so maybe we’ve just offended a few people, but I think that those are important series.

      Like

  • bornfromabove7

    I’m Christian, I was born from above also known as born of God 19 yrs ago, but for 18 of those yrs God allowed me to be deceived by false teaching by those that claim to be Christian.

    The truth is, a person that is born from above is supposed to live peacefully with everyone, the truth is, a person that is born from above is NOT supposed to judge the world, a person born from above is supposed to judge anyone that claims to be born of God that practices sin & remove them from the church (1 Cor 5:9-13)

    The truth is, a person born from above is NOT supposed to argue with anyone, the truth is those who do the opposite of what the New Testament says that a person born of God is supposed to do, is either deceived (like I was) or is not born of God, those who do the opposite of what the New Testament says are led by the flesh, those who are led by the flesh are not born of God, they are NOT Christian (Romans 8:13)

    For 18 yrs I was taught that I had to make my beliefs known to the world, I was deceived into believing that America was a Christian nation, and for those who think that the people that stole the land from the Native Americans, were Christian, the truth is, a Christian does not steal (1 Cor. 6:9-10), therefore America has NEVER been a Christian nation, if anything America is a false Christian nation

    The truth is, the majority of people that claim to be Christian in the world today are not led by the Spirit, the next time a person that claims to be Christian starts arguing with you or tries to force his or her beliefs on you, tell them that a person led by the Spirit does not argue with anyone, or force his or her beliefs on anyone, those who insult you for what you believe are not led by the Spirit, a person led by the Spirit would never insult anyone for how they live their life

    The bible was written for the church, therefore the bible should not be forced on the world, if you don’t share my beliefs, that’s cool, the people I stay way from are the people that claim to be born of God that don’t speak the truth

    Heb 12:14 is a verse that describes what a person led by the Spirit is supposed to do – “Pursue peace with ALL men, and holiness, without which NO man shall see the Messiah

    2 Timothy 2:24 And the servant of the Messiah must NOT quarrel, but be gentle unto ALL men

    Like

Tell us what you think

