My Theology Book Choices


As you all know, I’ve been reading Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis along side the Bible. I have made my decision as to which other books I will read. I have chosen Summa Theologia by Thomas Aquinas, Fundamentals of the Faith by Peter Keeft, and Confessions by St. Augustine. I also intend to read some counter-arguments against all four books, but I haven’t decided what I’ll read quite yet.

All four of those books focus on Christianity. I will look at some non-Christian books when I have finished reading the Bible. I also intend to read other Holy books. However, I’m going back to school in a week and will likely be unable to finish the Bible before the end of the school year. It may take me even longer to finish the four books along side it.


7 responses to “My Theology Book Choices

  • Home And Spirit

    I will have to hugely recommend you read George MacDonald’s Unspoken Sermons. No need to buy as you can read it all online: http://www.gutenberg.org/cache/epub/9057/pg9057.html. I am nearly finished with it myself and I have to say it has hugely influenced what I now believe. I recommend that you particularly read Child In The Mist and Justice. 🙂

    Like

  • stevereble

    This is great. Good one on you for taking this on. I studied Philosophy in University and, like you it seems, did some recreational theological study. I didn’t inhale though. One book I’ve come across recently that put an interesting spin on the subject is Thomas Cahill’s “Desire of the Everlasting Hills”, which tries to go a little deeper into who Jesus ‘the guy’ really was. I find it toes the line nicely between academia and that dirty word that Christians like to throw around ‘faith’…

    Like

  • Many Moons Under the Sun

    Hi, what an undertaking…especially during school! I admire you for that 🙂 I wanted to give a suggestion. A few years ago someone told me about the Chronological bible. Everything in it is written in the order of when it happened. Plus it is broken down into daily reading so it could be completed in a year. As far as I know it’s only available in the NIV, so it’s much easier to understand. I’m sure you already know this, but understanding the Hebrew and Greek would provide a much clearer picture…however translating those words are difficult b/c in many cases there is just not a fitting English word. Have a great day 🙂

    Like

    • edebock

      There’s also a Chronological Study Bible in the New King James version. I was concerned about the readability of the NKJV but I’m finding it clear and easy to understand. The historical and cultural notes, charts, timelines, etc. are also useful.

      Like

  • studentgonzo

    For all its flaws, The Confessions is actually a good read. Better than Aquinas, in my opinion.

    Like

  • Jesse Hawley

    God, ‘Mere Christianity’ was one of the most frustrating reads. In my mind I was having a constant argument with everything I was reading. The book is saturated with non-sequiturs and ‘begging the question’ type (il)logic. Good luck finishing it.

    Like

Tell us what you think