My Final Survey on Feminism


I have just finished my final survey on Feminism. Please help me out by doing this survey and sharing it:

http://kwiksurveys.com/s.asp?sid=i8d3kq6z73ems49471695

16 responses to “My Final Survey on Feminism

  • Carl at FSJ

    I took the survey. Mostly “I do not know” or “other” as answers, because as others commenters stated I do not have any personal knowledge about the movements you bring to the table. I know the words but know little or anything about what they stand for.
    I am not a lover of nouns, labels, at least nouns utilized to separate people one form the other. While striving to bring everyone into the conversation we are causing divisions by the way we label them/us. How much easier it would be if we were not Feminist, Gay, Straight, Arab, MRM, or a zillion other things.
    Until all these labels are done away with we will be fighting a losing battle to bring everyone into the same flock. Only when these labels, and all the others, are no longer in use will we have attained that which we seek, Equality.

    Like

  • paidiske

    I found the questions about celebrities difficult. I selected that they make feminism more “relevant” because in a celebrity-driven culture I think some people are more likely to look into something which is endorsed by the celebrities who provide something of a sense of identification for those people.

    But I loathe celebrity culture, so I didn’t do so without cringing…

    Like

  • kagmi

    Thank you for making this survey!

    Taking it was a very interesting experience for me, because the true definition of feminism is a topic of frequent conversation around my household. I am a feminist who has worked with feminist activists – and been thrilled with some of them, and very dismayed with others.

    To explain my answers – I stated that I do call myself a feminist, but then also listed all the reasons why I sometimes hesitate to do so.

    Like

  • kholsas

    Just completed your survey.

    I’d say that you might have maybe defined some of the terms in the survey. They are too technical than understandable.

    I say this because feminism is defined in different ways. Others believe it is empowerment of females into power and independence (thus easy to be misunderstood for ‘make hatred’). Yet others believe that it is not just about women, but it is all about bringing both genders to a scale of equality – which also protects men who get abused by women, physically, emotionally and financially

    Like

  • equippedcat

    Interesting, I have not heard of any of those people or campaigns. Perhaps I live in a wasteland devoid of Feminists, or perhaps they only appear noticeably if one is already on the bandwagon. Note that i marked against the title which had “radical” in it even though I know nothing about them; the word radical has too many unpleasant connotations for comfort.

    I selected a number of uncomplimentary things which are said about Feminists. Not because I think all or even most Feminists are like that, but a few are, and those ones seem to be making an effort to turn the society that I “have” to live in into a man-free or at least enslaved-man environment. Will they succeed? Probably not, but they seem to have had some effects harmful to men without greater benefit to women in general.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kholsas

      True, I have never heard of those campaigns

      Like

    • hessianwithteeth

      I honestly don’t think you have anything to worry about, they are more like modern American communist parties in levels of influence and impact. They just get brought up more because Feminism hs been and continues to be under constant fire.

      Like

    • paidiske

      Could you give me an example of something harmful to men which has been an effect of feminism in your context? I’m genuinely interested to know.

      Like

      • equippedcat

        The first thing which pops into mind is the concept that boys who “act up” need to be medicated. Now I’m not saying there are not cases where there are actual problems where medication would be beneficial to the person AND the rest of society. I know a fellow who cannot function without his meds. But it seems there are also cases where a boy just being a boy is medicated only because some woman (usually a school official) thinks he is being “too boyish”. In such a case, it would seem that being medicated would be harmful to the boy and the man he becomes.

        Like

        • paidiske

          I agree that that would be harmful. Under what diagnosis are they being medicated? ADD, something else?

          Like

        • hessianwithteeth

          This is not something that just effects boys. There has been a push to medicate children because they are being children. Gender has little to do with it. If a child acts in away which is not immediately conducive to sitting quietly in a class room there are some people who who think that child need fixing.

          It’s laziness and amount to abuse in my eyes. There is a social aspect because girls are told earlier on to sit down and be quite, where boys are generally allowed greater leeway due to the “boys will be boys” mantra. Boy will be boys because children will be children, to try to dig out the nature vs nurture is currently impossible until the relevant fields get their acts together. However, all children are effected and I don’t know any stats which indicate boys are much worse off than girls.

          This, in my eyes, is more bad/lazy parenting and to a lesser extent teaching then anything else.

          Like

          • equippedcat

            If the parent requested it, then I would agree. If a school administrator tries to sell it, it could be laziness or it could be an attempt to “muzzle” the child for not “behaving right” in the view of the school.\

            Like

Tell us what you think

